Posted by: marcmwm | July 21, 2009

TV for the Big Ten Media days

The Big Ten Network, of course, and ESPNEWS will have coverage of the event, which begins next Monday morning.

This is the official start of college football for me.

I am giddy.

 This from the Big Ten:

Park Ridge, Ill. –The Big Ten Conference announced today that the Big Ten Network and ESPNEWS will air live coverage of the 2009 Big Ten Football Media Days on Monday, July 27.  The Big Ten Network will also record the 38th Kickoff Luncheon on Tuesday, July 28, and will air a Kickoff Luncheon special at 10 a.m. CT on Saturday, Aug. 1.  The media days and luncheon will take place at the Hyatt Regency Chicago.

The Big Ten Network will provide four hours of live coverage on Monday, including the full press conferences for all 11 head coaches and Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. The network’s coverage begins at 10 a.m. CT with studio hosts Mike Hall and Chris Martin. Monday’s live coverage will extend to www.BigTenNetwork.com, where video of the press conference for every coach and Delany will be posted as the day unfolds. Also, the website will feature live chats, photo galleries, blog updates, frequent video reports and interviews as well as Twitter and Facebook updates.

Here’s the BTN release:

CHICAGO – The Big Ten Network will kick off its coverage of the 2009 Big Ten football season with extensive television and internet coverage of Big Ten Media Days from the Hyatt Regency in downtown Chicago.

The Big Ten Network will offer four hours of live televised coverage on Monday, July 27, including the full press conferences for all 11 head coaches and Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. Mike Hall and Chris Martin will anchor the network’s coverage from the Big Ten Network studios beginning at 11 AM ET.

 Monday’s live coverage will extend to www.BigTenNetwork.com, where video of every coach’s press conference as well as Delany’s press conference will be posted as the day unfolds. Also, the website will feature live chats, Twitter and Facebook updates, photo galleries, blog updates and frequent video reports and interviews.

Press Conference Schedule (live on Big Ten Network):

All times central

 10 AM – Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern)

10:15 AM – Ron Zook (Illinois)

10:30 AM – Bret Bielema (Wisconsin)

10:45 AM – Rich Rodriguez (Michigan)

11:15 PM – Danny Hope (Purdue)

11:30 PM – Tim Brewster (Minnesota)

11:45 PM – Jim Tressel (Ohio State)

12:15 PM – Bill Lynch (Indiana)

12:30 PM – Mark Dantonio (Michigan State)

12:45 PM – Joe Paterno (Penn State)

1 PM – Kirk Ferentz (Iowa)

1:30 PM – James E. Delany (Big Ten)


Responses

  1. Marc-

    I assume you will be in attendance at Media Days? If so, will you have the opportunity to liveblog or post frequently?

    As if I was not already amped for football season, this going to take me over the edge. Gosh, only a few more weeks until camp starts.

    Have you been able to hear many details on how things are going during camps in previous years?

    Go Hawks!

  2. I’m not sure about camps. I know freshmen report Aug. 5 and, I believe, practice starts Aug. 10.

    I will be posting a lot, AM. By a lot I mean whenever humanly possible. I may have a new blog by then located at a different URL, but who knows on that. The new Gazette online is in the works.

    I plan to send video from my phone to the blog, well it’d be a link on my blog to video. Keep your fingers crossed on that.

  3. Howdy Marc,

    How about any weight gain type info coming out of the underground. Speed improvements, strength gains or what not? I know we ask you this kind of stuff all the time, but have you heard anything at all like kids who are destroying the weight room or just really pushing it to the limit. Or even a frosh that came early who is bigger and more physically ready than the staff thought he may be. I know at one time you had mentioned Reiff and someone else though I can’t remember who that was, maybe Bigach.

    Chad

  4. I know there has been a roster update, but I’m going to wait until I see the fact book.

    Iowa has never advertised weight, strength and speed improvements. Sometimes, this info gets out, but I don’t think it has in quite a few years. I think they run the 40 in the spring and that’s it. I don’t believe they do before fall camp.

    Bigach, however, has made hellish gains if he indeed comes in around 270. He was listed at 220 when he signed.

  5. Presumably, they slot the Big Ten FB coaches in terms of classiest last? Fitzgerald beat out Zook…….nice work, Pat.

    Now, remind me ……….do we get a crack at Northwestern again this season.

    There is no way that IOWA should have lost to the putty-cats in 2008

  6. Yep, at home again.


Leave a comment

Categories