Posted by: marcmwm | May 21, 2009

The new Kinnick field . . .

Not sure how long this has been out. Truthfully, I kind of forgot about it. But here’s new Kinnick field. Looks as though they’re ready to roll out the green in the next few days. Check out this photo gallery on the official Iowa site from Mr. Pete Van Elswyk, a man of many talents.

It turned out about how I thought it would. (BTW, I know it’s cut off, so the other end says “Hawkeyes” in gold on a black background. Sorry about that. I still suck at the internet.)

Never mind, I fixed it. It was driving me crazy.

3176661

Responses

  1. Now time to paint the water tower!

  2. I don’t know why, but I don’t think that’s ever going to happen.

  3. I just hope that the turf is one color rather than the two-toned look at Nebraska and Ohio State.

  4. http://twitpic.com/5msmx

    Hmmm…..

    I’m withholding judgment until I see it in person.

  5. I may be the lone ranger complaining about this issue, but I am thankful for the solid color of the turf.

    Nevertheless, like MF, I will withhold judgment until I see it in person.

  6. I like it.

  7. Looks nice but that stuff holds the heat like the inside of a car…….Those early September games are going to be cramp city.

    check out this article:

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=93364750

    Wish they had just kept the real stuff. Can’t beat the real thing….(I think the Iowa program can support a greenskeeper or two.) I find it ironic that a state with some of the richest soil in the world is putting in fake grass. Silly Barta.

  8. Nothing like the real thing. You said it, Jebus.

    I love the smell, the stains . . . all of it.

  9. I always liked the unpredictability of real grass. Like the guys having to go in an change shoes at halftime to get longer cleats. I think it gave Iowa a real home field advantage as it neutralized speed.

  10. I agree about the grass but like the look of the field.

    And a tigerhawk in the center of the field would be a nice touch.

    March, call Gary and see about that. Thanks.

  11. The Green(e?) field looks wonderful.
    The black end zones? Not so much.

  12. This may be a really dumb question, it’s a first impression and it’s also the Friday before memorial day. Now, with all ego preserving disclaimers made, could there be a concern in red zone situations with our players in home unis being less visible on the black turf of the end zone? On the flip side, would it be easier for the qb to spot defenders in their away unis on the black turf? Or is the turf just not that visible from field level? the only black end zones I recall are from some of our bowl games in the past.

  13. Is something missing from the middle of the field?

  14. Looks okay. At least we can READ the endzones now. I’d prefer something with a more classic look, though. Maybe black and/or old gold diamonds in the endzones (apologies to Missouri), with “IOWA” spelled out with each letter in a diamond? No tigerhawk at midfield, please, but a nice old gold “I” might look good. I’d like to see us go back to a more gold color rather than that barf-yellow that they pass off as gold inside Carver.

  15. Also: the field looks to much like the basketball floor (not a template for success) and, what’s wrong with grass? It did give us an advantage to a degree, sort of like how the old “dead” spots gave the Celtics an advantage at the old Garden.


Leave a Reply

Categories

