Posted by: marcmwm | May 18, 2009

Does No. 19 sound about right, Iowa fans?

ESPN.com college football reporter Mark Schlabach put together a post-spring and pre-, pre-, pre-fall top 25.

He has Florida No. 1. The Hawkeyes are No. 19, with replacing RB Shonn Greene and DTs Mitch King and Matt Kroul on the Hawkeyes’ list of to-do’s.

Just ahead of Iowa is TCU. And right behind is Nebraska. Remember when Iowa played Nebraska? That seemed right, didn’t it?

Iowa's Kevin Kasper celebrates Iowa's first touchdown against Nebraska, Saturday Sept. 23, 2000 in the first quarter of their game in Lincoln, Neb.(AP Photo/Dave Weaver)

Iowa's Kevin Kasper celebrates Iowa's first touchdown against Nebraska, Saturday Sept. 23, 2000 in the first quarter of their game in Lincoln, Neb.(AP Photo/Dave Weaver)

Responses

  1. Can you please forward this to the head of the sports department? Why did you not put an article in the sports section related to the all star nascar racing this weekend? This is a major sport as well, as much so as baseball for many of us!!!!

    Thanks for listening!!

  2. I will, Craig. I’ll forward your thoughts and get an answer here for you.

    Thanks for reading. I’ll try to help.

  3. I think 19 is ok. I really think we will be thrust into the Top 10 after the win in Happy Valley. Penn St will be undefeated when we roll into town. All of America will be watching an undefeated Iowa team outwork Jo pa’s young talent.

    I can’t wait!!!

  4. Uhh, Paul, don’t put the cart before the horse.

  5. As far as the first comment about the roundy-round racing, there was a couple of grafs in Sunday’s edition. Not what the event deserved, but the result was in the paper. Space issues suck!!

  6. Marc –

    Have you heard anything about a possible incoming transfer to the school if he gets accepted by admissions?

    I have been heaing some chatter about a RB that is coming in that redshirted last year that was someone that we wanted very badly that is coming, he’s not from another Big Ten School but from a BCS conference school…

    Was just curious what you have heard…

    Go Hawks!!

  7. Craig, I talked to JR Ogden, who handles these things. He said we goofed by not having a follow in Monday’s paper on the race. Pud’n is right. Space issues suck. I used to fight all the time about space and later deadlines. I’ve retreated here, where space and deadlines don’t mean poopy.

  8. Duane — I’ve heard a little. I don’t know details. I’m not sure they need an RB, but if it’s someone with a resume (that kid at Alabama?), yeah, no one’s saying no to that.

  9. Paul — Love your optimism. I wish I shared it for the Blackhawks (big game tonight, boyos!).

    I’ll try the W-L thing later this summer. I’ve done that publicly only a few times. I have to admit, I don’t like doing that. But why not? I’ll need material for a two-week vacation in July.

  10. I think the priority order in replacing departed sr’s goes:
    King
    Bruggeman
    Kroul
    Greene

    I’m terrified about replacing Bruggy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

