Posted by: marcmwm | April 30, 2009

Station to the College football hall . . .





IOWA CITY, IA — Larry Station, the former University of Iowa linebacker who compiled nearly 500 career tackles and twice was named consensus All-American, has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. Station is the 14th former Hawkeye player or coach to earn the honor and the first since Hayden Fry in 2003. Fry was Station’s coach at Iowa from 1982-85.


The Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2009, in New York City. The recipients will be officially enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2010. 


Twenty-three times in his career, Station was credited with 10 or more tackles in a game. He had 20 against Purdue in 1983 and against Michigan State in 1985 and 21 against Minnesota in 1984. Station led the Hawkeyes in tackles all four seasons and three of those years the Hawkeyes led the Big Ten Conference in total defense. Station, the school’s all-time leading tackler with 492 (308 solo, 184 assists), was also a two-time academic All-American.




“Larry is truly a special person. In my entire coaching career, he was probably the best defensive player I had the privilege to work with,” Fry said. “He could anticipate where the ball was going better than any linebacker I was ever associated with. He combined superior mental and athletic skills to become the best at his position.  


“He was a leader on and off the field. All his teammates and members of our coaching staff had an enormous amount of respect for Larry. My sincerest congratulations. He deserves all the recognition he’s getting.”  


With Station securing the defensive side of the ball, the Hawkeyes posted season records of 8-4, 9-3, 8-4-1 and 10-2 and played in four bowl games — Peach, Gator, Freedom and Rose. 


Station had 492 career tackles — the most in Hawkeye history — but he is best remembered for his game-saving tackle of running back Jamie Morris in Iowa’s 1985 game against Michigan. The game was one of the most anticipated in school history, as Iowa was ranked No. 1 in the Associated Press poll, while Michigan was No. 2. Michigan held a 10-9 lead with just minutes left on the clock at Kinnick Stadium, when the Wolverines faced third-and-2. Station anticipated the handoff to Morris and dropped him for a 2-yard loss. The Wolverines were forced to punt and Iowa kicker Rob Houghtlin kicked a game-winning field goal, as time expired, to give Iowa a 12-10 victory. 


Station, a native of Omaha, Neb., played one season of professional football with the Pittsburgh Steelers. 


Station was inducted into the Iowa Lettermen’s Hall of Fame in 2005. In 1989, Iowa fans selected Station to the all-time University of Iowa football team during the 100th anniversary celebration of Iowa football. In 1999, Sports Illustrated selected Station as the 38th greatest sports figure in Nebraska history.  


To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been a first-team all-America selection; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and are not currently playing professionally. 


Quarterback Chuck Long, a teammate with Station at Iowa from 1981-85, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1999.






Name                                                   Years at Iowa              Inducted


Howard Jones, head coach                 1916-23                       1951

Nile Kinnick, halfback                        1937-39                       1951

Fred “Duke” Slater, tackle                  1918-21                       1951

Gordon Locke, fullback                      1920-22                      1960

Eddie Anderson, head coach              1939-42, 1946-49        1971

Aubrey Devine, quarterback               1919-21                       1973

Edward “Slip” Madigan, head coach 1943-44                       1974

Calvin Jones, guard                             1953-55                       1980

Alex Karras, tackle                             1955-57                       1991

Randy Duncan, quarterback               1956-58                       1997

Chuck Long, quarterback                   1981-85                       1999

Forest Evashevski, head coach           1952-60                       2000

Hayden Fry, head coach                     1979-98                       2003

Larry Station, linebacker                     1982-85                       2009



  1. It’s about time. Too bad his back gave out on him. My brother in law started on that defense and said Larry was an amazing leader as well as a player.

  2. E, Hlas got a chance to talk to him today. He’s a quiet guy, as you’d might expect, but he talks about his official visit when Iowa was recruiting him.

    Yeah, that happened to be the day the Hawkeyes clinched the Rose Bowl in 1981.

    Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: