Posted by: marcmwm | December 13, 2008

Iowa football awards banquet

IOWA FOOTBALL AWARDS ANNOUNCED                                                                                                               December 13, 2008


IOWA CITY – Junior Shonn Greene and senior Mitch King have been named co-winners of the 2008 Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for the University of Iowa football team.  The announcement came today (Saturday) at the team’s annual awards banquet in Iowa City.


The Hawkeyes finished the regular season with an 8-4 overall record, including a fourth place tie in the Big Ten with a 5-3 mark.  Iowa accepted a bid to the 2009 Outback Bowl, which marks the fifth time in seven years the Hawkeyes have played in a January bowl game.


Greene, a 5-11, 235 pound running back from Sicklerville, NJ, recently became the first Hawkeye to win the prestigious Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation’s top running back.  Greene also collected the Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football award, was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and was a unanimous first team all-Big Ten pick by the media.  He is on his way to becoming a consensus all-American after being named to the AFCA and Walter Camp all-American first teams.  He ranks second nationally in rushing and is the only FBS running back to eclipse 100 rushing yards in every game this season.  His 1,729 rushing yards are the most in single-season history at Iowa and his 17 touchdowns are tied for the most by an Iowa player in a single-season. 


King, a 6-3, 284 pound defensive tackle from Burlington, IA, was named the Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year.  He was also chosen as a first team all-Big Ten player by both the media and coaches, including a unanimous selection by the coaches.  King posted 52 tackles, including a team-best 15.5 for loss this season.  The 15.5 tackles for loss are tied for the 25th-most nationally.  He was named to the 2008 Lott Trophy, Lombardi and Chuck Bednarik Award Watch Lists this year.


King, along with seniors Rob Bruggeman and Matt Kroul were named winners of the Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award.  Bruggeman is a 6-3, 287 pound offensive lineman from Cedar Rapids, IA, and was named second team all-Big Ten by the league coaches and media.  He was also an ESPN the Magazine first team Academic all-District and academic all-Big Ten.  Kroul, a 6-3, 281 pound defensive lineman from Mount Vernon, IA, was named second team all-Big Ten by the conference media and honorable mention all-Big Ten by the coaches.  He was also the Iowa recipient of the Big Ten Conference Sportsmanship Award.  Kroul collected 53 total tackles, including 4.5 for loss and two sacks this season.  The Hayden Fry Award is given in honor of Iowa’s Hall of Fame coach who retired after the 1998 season.  It goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times.


Kroul was also given the Iron Hawk Award.  It is presented to a Hawkeye who has given his all every play, for the entire season, and has represented his team and school in an exemplary fashion.  He was also a candidate for the prestigious Draddy Award.


Senior Anton Narinskiy was named the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award winner.  The award goes annually to a player who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and on the playing field.  Narinskiy was named ESPN the Magazine first team academic all-District and academic all-Big Ten this season.


Seniors Seth Olsen, Brandon Myers and Andy Brodell were given the offensive Coaches Appreciation Award, while sophomore Amari Spievey and junior A.J. Edds were given the award on the defensive side.  Senior Gavin McGrath and Brodell were also given the Coaches Apprecation Award for special teams.


Sophomore Ryan Donahue was named winner of the Reggie Roby Special Team Specialist of the Year for the second-straight season.  Sophomore Jayme Murphy was awarded the overall Reggie Roby Special Teams Player of the Year for the second year in a row.  The awards are named after the late Iowa punter who was a first team all-American in 1981 and 1982.  Roby, who died in 2005, punted in the NFL for 16 years.


Bruggemen and sophomore Bryan Bulaga earned the offensive Hustle Team Award.  Defensive Hustle Team Award honors were given to junior Pat Angerer and senior Bradley Fletcher.  Junior Chris Rowell and sophomore Lance Tillison were honored with the Hustle Team Award for special teams.


Team Leader Awards were given offensively to senior Austin Postler and junior Kyle SpadingJunior Tyler Blum and freshman Jason Semmes were given the award on the defensive side and junior Taylor Herbst along with freshman Jonathan Gimm won the award for special teams.


The Win During the Week Award went to sophomores Ricky Stanzi and Brett Morse offensively, Kroul and sophomore Brett Greenwood defensively and sophomore Andrew Schulze for special teams.


Sophomore Allen Reisner was the offensive recipient of the Next Man in Award.  Junior Chad Geary was honored on defense and freshman Jewel Hampton won the award for special teams.


Greene and Bruggeman (offense), King and Kroul (defense) and McGrath (special teams) were named permanent team captains for the 2008 season.


The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award went to the Kinnick Stadium grounds crew; Ted Thorn, Cale Doyle, Andy Eiffert and Tony Senio.


The Player Appreciation Award was given to Dick Jacobsen, who recently donated five-million dollars towards a new football practice facility.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: