Posted by: marcmwm | November 24, 2008

Greene a finalist for the Doak Walker



Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

Ray Maualuga, USC

Aaron Maybin, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State

*Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

Jeremy Maclin, Missouri



Lou Groza Award (best kicker)

Josh Arauco, Arkansas State

Graham Gano, Florida State

Louie Sakoda, Utah

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State

Pat McAfee, West Virginia

Louie Sakoda, Utah


Maxwell Award (best all-around player) 

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech

Colt McCoy, Texas

*Tim Tebow, Florida

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech

Colt McCoy, Texas



Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)

Michael Oher, Ole Miss

Duke Robinson, Oklahoma

Andre Smith, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Eric Berry, Tennessee

Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State

Taylor Mays, USC



Doak Walker Award (best running back)

Shonn Greene, Iowa

Knowshon Moreno, Georgia

Javon Ringer, Michigan State



EDIT: And this from Iowa:



            IOWA CITY, IA – University of Iowa running back Shonn Greene has been named a finalist for the prestigious Doak Walker Award. The award is given annually to college football’s top running back. The winner will be announced Dec. 11th on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show from Orlando, FL.


            Greene, a 5-11, 235-pound junior from Sicklerville, NJ, rushed for an Iowa record 1,729 yards this season. He now owns the season rushing record, once held by Tavian Banks (1,691). He rushed for over 100-yards in every game this season, the only player in the country to do so. Greene leads the nation with a 6.2 yards per carry average (min. 215 attempts).


            The other finalists for the Doak Walker Award are Michigan State’s Javon Ringer and Georgia’s Knowshon Moreno. Greene ranks ahead of both in virtually all running back categories this year.


For what it’s worth, I have votes for the Biletnikoff (Maclin), Groza (Sakoda), Guy (Sakoda), Walker (Greene) and Heisman (don’t know yet). I didn’t have Iowa’s all-Big Ten vote this year. I think Randy from the Register did. I think that’s it for me.

As I’ve said here before, I’m honored to be asked to vote in these things and take them seriously. (Why Maclin? I’ve seen him play a lot and I love what he does for that team. It was close. I thought all three were great).

Greene is on my Heisman list. Right now, I’m thinking Tebow, Greene, Bradford, McCoy, Crabtree, Harrell. Greene is in there. I think he’s the best RB in the nation this year. How far does that go with this group of star-studded QBs? I’m waiting to see.



  1. How does Laurinaitis make that list when the BTN doesn’t even give him much love?

    Sakoda is a stud having been turned on to the Utes by a buddy who lived in SLC.

    Congrats on voting for the Doak Walker award winner.

  2. Laurinatis is the most overrated player in college football, and has been for three years.

    I have to say Marc, I don’t really understand Maclin over Crabtree and Bryant, particularly since the award is just for best receiver and doesn’t take his special teams play into account. Crabtree has more receptions, yards and TDs. Bryant has more yards than both of them, averages more per catch than both, and has more TDs than Maclin. You can’t credit it to their offenses either, because Maclin plays in a wide open offense with a great QB, and Chase Coffman to draw attention. I’d probably vote for Bryant, but both he and Crabtree are better choices than Maclin.

  3. That’s cool, Adam. It’s a good debate. I just really like Maclin and what he did for Mizz.

    I have to tell you, that was a tough vote for me. I think I went with Maclin because I saw him more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: