Posted by: marcmwm | November 15, 2008

Pregame quick slants . . .

I’ve heard that Tyler Blum, a D-lineman whose career was derailed by a back injury, is walking out for senior day this morning. It’s too bad. He came in with U.S. Army Bowl credentials.

No TE Tony Moeaki. He re-injured a leg strain that knocked him out for four games earlier this year. OG Andy Kuempel is dressed. He’s wearing a shoulder harness on his left shoulder. He missed last week with a separated shoulder.

Here’s some extra from an interview I had with DT Matt Kroul, who’ll tie Iowa’s record for starts with No. 48 today:

The Hawkeyes’ hooks went into Matt early. When he was a freshman at Mount Vernon, he worked out with Scott Pospisil, a former defensive lineman at Iowa. Kroul has been doing workouts designed by Iowa strength coach Chris Doyle for almost nine years now.

He committed to Iowa before his junior season at Mount Vernon. This is early for a college commitment, but no one blinked, especially Kroul.

“I went to a Nike camp,” Kroul said. “I already committed and decided to go to one in Michigan with a buddy. I ran like a 5.1 or 5.2 (-second 40-yard dash) and I weighed 230. Some of those guys were running 4.7 and 4.6s. I was like, you know. I took a visit here one time my junior year and I walk in and see (former Iowa linebacker) Eddie Miles. He was a beast and he was only a freshman. I was watching him work out and I was like, wow. Is this really for me? Am I going to be able to do this? I just kind of fell into that position and kept working and there I was, starting for four years. You never know how it’s going to come. You never know what’s going to happen.”

Has he ever felt jealous about all the attention his counterpart, DT Mitch King, gets? To be fair, King has put up better numbers as far as tackles for loss and sacks go, but Kroul does have more career tackles.

“Yeah, I’ve heard it, through close peers, I guess, too. Why aren’t you doing that? Why aren’t you having that? You think about it. You want to do the same. But he’s a little more physically gifted in a way. He’s quicker, he puts up better numbers (in the weightroom). But, we say on this team, there’s a position for everyone. That was mine.”

What about that “chew up blockers” thing? Is that your job?  — “No, we play the same position. That drives me nuts. We play the same position. We play the 1 to 3 (gaps), and I’m always playing the 1. He has a knack for getting those stats. I wish I had a little more. I think I do what I can with what I have and hopefully that’s enough.”

Come and blog. Listen to Mike Hlas’ tales of glory from the oil fields of west Texas. Listen to Scott Dochterman brag up his days as an option QB for Burlington JV. Me? I got nothing. Well, I like beer and stuff.

http://www.gazetteonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20081115/NEWS/811159995/1001/NEWS

Responses

  1. Two words- Shonn Greene.

    That is all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

