Posted by: marcmwm | October 31, 2008

Beer O’ Clock — Illinois

Dang, these guys meet on Wednesday nights on C-U. I missed them. You guys know I would’ve gone. Looks like they have fun. I’m pretty sure they drink beer.

http://www.cubeerclub.com/html/history.htm

I don’t have a lot this week. I’ve sort of found beer nirvana in Arrogant Bastard. My wife is heading to see family in Wisconsin in a few weeks. She’ll pick up a case and I’ll be set for awhile.

Benz is up and running. The prices for the Anchor products have risen dramatically, so I’ll be skipping those there. But Benz’s selection on everything, including snacky stuff, is tremendous. I’ll be experimenting with the many, many scotches they carry. I did find Oberon there. I have friends who swear by the stuff. I’m not a big wheat guy, but I’ll give it a whirl. I’ve also started to monkey with wines a little. I just have them in case a guest is interested. I’m just way into the beer.

I see that Yuengling has made its way into Georgia. That’s the wrong direction for us, but I guess it could happen eventually.

I did pick up a bottle of Leinenkugel’s Fireside Nut Brown Ale while putting together a six pack at Benz. I’m very, very intrigued.

From the article on Beeradvocate:

“Brewed in small, high-quality batches at Leinenkugel’s brewery in Chippewa Falls, Wis., Leinenkugel’s Fireside Nut Brown Lager is the perfect complement for holiday foods such as glazed hams, roasts, gravies, pies and pastries.

Fireside Nut Brown contains 4.9 percent alcohol by volume (ABV). It will be available during November and December where Leinenkugel’s is sold in 6, 12 and 24-pack bottles and on draft.”

Also, anybody ready for some Leinie’s Nut Brown Sweet Potatoes?

Ingredients:
* 4 large sweet potatoes
* 1/4 cup Leinenkugel’s Fireside Nut Brown
* 1/2 cup heavy cream
* 1 teaspoon olive oil
* 4 tablespoons brown sugar
* 3 tablespoons molasses
* 1/8 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 cup chopped candied walnuts to top

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350° F.
2. Place the potatoes on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake for one hour or until tender.
3. Scoop the flesh into a bowl and discard the skins.
4. Add the beer, cream, olive oil, brown sugar, molasses, and salt and beat on high speed with an electric mixer until smooth.
5. Add chopped candied walnuts to top potatoes.
6. Cover to keep warm or reheat before serving.

I might try to make this, but unfortunately, in my family, that’d be for an audience of one.

And reading farther down on BA’s news items, I find the blending of two of my favorite things in the world: Beer and “Deadliest Catch.” You guys know the show? It’s on Discovery. It’s about crab fishermen in the Bering Sea in Alaska. To the point, it’s about the dangers and the interworkings of the crab boats during king and opilio crab seasons. It . . . is . . . awesome.

Rogue is putting out “Captain Sig’s Deadliest Ale,” an India red ale that Rogue describes as “Deep red in color, this ale starts off with a floral, slightly citrus hop nose, hop flavor soon fades into the malty backbone of this red ale.”

If anyone out there sees this, please let me know where.

Alright, here’s my recommend this week. Hard to find, sorry. I pick it up at Van’s in East Dubuque, Ill. I think Iowa’s screwy liquor laws scare North Coast Brewing’s Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout out of Iowa.

These come in four packs. In East Dubuque, there around $8, which is a super duper bargain.

Rasputin rates an “outstanding” A on Beeradvocate and that’s with 1,435 reviews. (BTW, I’m writing this in the afternoon before I leave for Champaign. I have three left in the fridge. They will be gone when I get home Sunday morning.)

This from Todd Alström, one of the Beeradvocate founders:

 “A freakin’ evil looking 12 oz. bottle with a sketching of Rasputin and some Russian words (probably a hex on all who partake of the stout within).

Black as night, with a brown chunky head that seems to crawl, rather than stick, to the pint glass. A very impressive cascading effect when poured.

Highly roasted malt aromas and alcoholic to the nose.

Smooth, potent and espresso like with a high burnt malt and hop bitterness that finishes on the sweet side to say the least.

Very complex, and true to its style. Well worth the $3.00 (+/-) paid for the single bottle, and I’d definitely buy it again. Not a beer for the faint of heart, but rather barley wine lovers and chocolate fanatics.”

For me, just what Todd said times 10. This has been one of my favorite since I stumbled on it last summer.

Responses

  1. Marc-
    If there was an easy way to transport beer on a plane I would bring you a case of Yuengling when I come back home to Iowa for the holidays from Philadelphia. I was down in the Ft. Myers, FL area this summer for vacation and had some Yuengling down there, but it wasn’t near as fresh as it is here in Philly. So it is making its was further south but does not seem to be heading west. On the flipside we have no Leinenkugel’s, New Belgium Brews, or Boulevard out here. However it makes beer drinking fun in both places. Go Hawks!

  2. John’s Grocery in IC is your source for Rogue beers. If anyone in the area is going to have the Captain Sig’s, they will. You can see the list of Rogue products here:

    http://www.johnsgrocery.com/Departments/Beer/browse.cfm?action=browse&method=prodname&arg=R

    The Imperial IPA is on par with the Arrogant Bastard you mentioned before (I’ve had both). The Dry Hopped Red is a standby for me.

  3. House,
    I discovered Yuengling when I went to Pittsburgh last month. It was on tap at Beers of the Burgh at PNC. All I can say is, how can the people of Western PA even try Iron City when this delicious brew is available to them in abundance. My sis drank IC Light at the Pirates/Cardinals game. I tried it and it seemed like, well, watered-down beer that has passed through the urinary tract, if I can be so blunt. In a word, horrible. If you want some Yuengling, I can see if she will bootleg some back for the holidays.

  4. TC — You’ve got it down my friend, making beer drinking fun wherever you go. That’s something I’ve just started being conscious of the last few years. Beer is different everywhere, God bless America!!!

    MF — I love the Hazelnut that Rogue makes. Also, the American Amber. I’ve had the bitter, but can’t remember if it was the Imperial. I’ll scout John’s. I better put a link up for them.

    P-Head — Yeah, hook me up if you can. Your description of Iron City put me off it for . . . ever. Well done.

  5. My wfie and I honeymooned in NW Montana. There were a surprising number of brewpubs in the area. She humored me as I took her to all of them.

    Needless to say, we’re still happily married.

  6. I hear you. A couple summers ago, we took the kids to Durango, Colo., and found an excellent brewpub called Steamworks. The beer was fabulous, the cajun boil was tremendous and it had a cool bowling video game the kids loved. I think my wife even bought a T-shirt.

    She’ll humor me. She’s a trooper.

  7. Was at Fareway today to get libations before the game. Big Sky Brewing is now available around here. The IPA is very good.

    http://www.bigskybrew.com/index.aspx


Leave a Reply

Categories

