Posted by: marcmwm | October 21, 2008

Mid-season all-Americans

Here’s one from Sports Illustrated (I had some input on this):

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/football/ncaa/10/16/all.americans/index.html

 

The Wizard of Odds asked me about linemen. I gave him several who’ve impressed me this year.

Here’ Phil Steele’s mid-season all-Americans and all-conference lists:

http://www.philsteele.com/FBS%20Info/midssn%20all%20conf/2008midssnallame.html

 

I haven’t checked these out.

Responses

  1. Greene is listed as 2nd team in both and Ringer is 1st team. Based on the 1st third of the season, I think that’s fair. But, over the middle third, Greene has been a better back. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I think Ringer was over-used in the early games and it’s starting to show.

  2. Agree, Joe.

    How smart do Ferentz and strength coach Chris Doyle look now?

    That’s one thing that’s sort of been missed in all this. Who knows exactly what Doyle got in Greene this summer. Greene has admitted to being 250-ish. But who knows where his fitness was.

    Moving couches and dressers for McGregors is hardly moving tackles and outrunning safeties against Wisconsin.

  3. Doyle is a key part of the Iowa football program. He’s definitely behind the scenes but is a perfect fit for this team.

  4. People don’t know how much Ferentz puts on Doyle’s plate. Doyle is bascially the face of the coaches from Dec/Jan to spring and then from the end of spring to fall. This is when coaches can’t have on-field contact. Doyle monitors all this. He’s way more than a strength coach. I’ve started thinking of him as more of as assistant. He’s also well versed in the game.

  5. I’ve never met the guy but have heard nothing but positive about him, both on a professional and personal level.

  6. Here’s how much Ferentz thinks of Doyle:

    When Doyle started 10 years ago at Iowa, I believe he was hired at $60,000. He now makes $224,400. That tells me there’s a market for his services and that Ferentz knows and appreciates his value.

  7. Greene should be a first team All-American over Ringer, but I think people are slowly starting to figure that out. I’d actually take Royster over Ringer too.

    I’m really happy that Bulaga got some All American attention from SI, he’s been phenomenal this year. I can’t believe he’s just a true sophomore. If he keeps it up, he’s going to be the best lineman Ferentz has ever had (he’s waaaaaay ahead of where Gallery and Steinbach were at this point), and a definite first rounder. It’s a little annoying that Steele only has him on the all conference second team; he’s been a lot better than Boone from OSU, who’s living off preseason hype so far.

  8. Great points, Adam.

  9. Then I guess Doyle can pay some more taxes to Barack for doing all of his hard work and being rightfully compensated….

    Sorry, I know this isn’t a political board but it was there so I took it.

  10. I try to keep my politics to myself.

    I do find the local attack ads very interesting. It’s nice to know that we can be just as mean as the national campaigns.


Leave a Reply

Categories

