Posted by: marcmwm | September 5, 2008

Beer o’ clock

I would love it if lmoney60, and plenty of his pals, chimed in here. I like to pass on what I know about beer (limited, I like what I like) but I also enjoy hearing recommendations. That said, I’m not big on anything “berry.” I liked Frankenberries as a kid. I don’t like Frankenbeerie as an adult.

(Speaking of beer, the Cubs are down 9-0 and I’ve turned to the Navy-Ball State game. I’m gonna need some beer to numb this deal. The Cubs are killing me. It’s over. Just like that. I’m giving Navy the save here. It’s 23-21 Midshipmen with 12:30 left in the third.)

Love to hear from you, lmoney. Let me know if I’m missing something.

Quick survey of Florida beers:

Hurrican Reef Lager — This is a light amber lager that is put out by the Florida Beer Company. The fellas at Beeradvocate give it a solid B.

Smokin’ Oyster Whatabeer — Here’s what it is “Brewed and bottles especially for the Smokin’ Oyster Brewery, Fort Myers Beach, Fl, by The Indian River Beverage Corp., Melbourne, FL.” It’s an American amber that leans toward red, according to Beeradvocate reviews. The site gives it a B-.

Ybor Gold Brown Ale — C’mon, Hawkeye people! I know you guys have glugged more than your share of this stuff. I know you guys know Ybor City, with two Outback Bowl appearances under your belt. (I went down for a night during both trips. It’s a Mardi Gras/Orleans wannabe.) It’s an English brown ale that receives a B- at Beeradvocate.

This week’s recommendation:

I’m gonna go all frou frou on you guys — after throwing the Schlitz down last week — and say Arrogant Bastard Ale.

Now, I haven’t tried this. The Fairfax Handimart (lookin’ good Benz, keep plugging away) doesn’t have it in the cooler. But reading about it will send me looking for it at Van’s Liquor in East Dubuque, Ill. (No deposit there, boys.)

This sucker has 1,429 reviews on Beeradvocate and it still rates an A-. That’s a lot of people agreeing that this beer is goooooood.

It’s listed as an American strong ale brewed at Stone Brewing Company in California. It has an ABV of 7.2%.

Here is part of the poster UnionTurf’s review: “Taste is great, very hoppy and at the same time perfect malt balance. Between the smell and taste you would think you are chewing on flowers/hops . . . love it.”

I want to love it. Let me know out there if you know where to get it.

Their website is pretty fun.

http://www.arrogantbastard.com/

Navy just turned it over on downs inside Ball State’s 10. I don’t even want to know about the Cubs at this point.

Responses

  1. I had my share of Arrogant Bastard. It’s really good stuff. It’s hard to find beer with that kind of ABV that doesn’t taste “hot”. It’s got a great balance of malt and hops. But, for my money, it’s not the best beer Stone makes. Their Ruination IPA is phenomenal and just as potent.

    For a Bastard-like experience locally, try to get some Dogfish Head 90-minute IPA or even Bell’s Two Hearted Ale. They’re both kind of a Bastard-lite.

    Sadly, Iowa’s arcane beer laws make it very difficult to distribute high-gravity beers. I blame Johnny Orr.

  2. Oh, another option is Rogue’s Imperial IPA: http://www.rogue.com/beers/imperial-india-pale-ale.php

    You can get it at Dirty John’s.

    As for where to get Arrogant Bastard, it looks like the closest option is Madison, WI.

    Damn. Now you got me thinking about a road trip…

  3. Johnny Orr, ha!!!! I knew it!!!

    I tried the Dogfish at Beckett’s, the English pub place by Twin Pines. It’s good. I tried a six pack of something Bells at Benz once. It was OK. I think it was their amber.

    I’ve tried Rogue’s Imperial, but my favorite imperial is Old Rasputin by North Coast. I’m drinking it now. It’s high ABV, but I get it in East Dubuque, which is like the old west of alcohol. Everything is on the menu, even Schlitz or Blatz Light.

    Madison, huh?? Man, my wife is a bit north of there for a wedding this weekend. Nah, can’t ask. She’s already mad enough that I have to work.

    Thanks for the suggestions, J. I’m going to do my best to find Ruination.

  4. Right now, J., I’m drinking a Big Foot, a barleywine made by Sierra Nevada. I bought this six pack in ED, but I’ve bought it at Benz in the past.

  5. I’ve not been to Benz. But it sounds like I need to go. Is it in CR?

    How does it compare to John’s?

    Bell’s makes a lot of different beers. I use to live in Western Michigan so they were the home team, so to speak. The Two Hearted is only made in the fall and winter and is meant to keep you warm during those cold nights. 3 or 4 of them and you won’t care what the temp is.

    And, BTW, it’s Joe.

  6. Yeah, Benz was wiped out by the flood. I think they’re coming back at the end of the month.

    The place has a spectacular beer selection, excellent wine and great liquor. I bought Dalwhinnie scotch there before the flood.

    It’s probably on par with John’s, which might have a slightly better beer list.

    With Benz down, I’ve been to Wilke in Mount Vernon a few times. Not a bad little place.

    I highly recommend Vans in East Dubuque. Anchor Steam is less than $8 a sixer there.

    Love your description of the Two Hearted, Joe. Count me in. I’ll be looking for it at Benz.


Leave a Reply

Categories

