Posted by: marcmwm | May 31, 2008

As a parent . . .

Yeah, I’m going there.

I don’t like to use my family as backdrop for stuff I write, but the theme here today is what would you think if your son or daughter lived in Hillcrest Dormitory last fall at Iowa?

I would’ve been nervous. I would hope that my kids would make the right choices with alcohol and company and try to stick to the reason why they’re in college. But I also know that’s not realistic. This a big, dramatic time for kids, freedom and parties and beautiful people. It doesn’t always come out the way you think it will.

It all comes down to trust. I imagine that’s the only way a parent could cope with the inherent and gaping temptation that college dorm life is.

I would’ve been nervous, not scared. I would’ve taken their temperature more, with a few extra questions, not tipping my emotional hand but still trying to dig for info and get a point across. The wrong call home, however, probably would’ve sent me off the ledge.

Take the football and athletics element out of it. There’s plenty of weirdness to go around.

One thing I’ve learned from all this is that there are a lot of people who care about what happens in dorm settings, but it’s not going to be perfect. You just hope that it’s a foible like loud music or smelly feet.

I’m not sure that’s realistic, either.

Football talk is coming. I promise. I’ll start talking positions and stuff next week. I swear.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

