Posted by: marcmwm | July 6, 2009

Hampton update

Up front, I don’t know a whole lot.

I was able to confirm that Jewel Hampton suffered a knee injury Friday. I’m assuming non-contact drills because the team won’t be in pads until Aug. 7 (or thereabouts). I was told the MRI is happening today, so the severity is unknown. Most of the coaching staff is on vacation this week, so I’m not sure when or if there will be official comment. The Golden Harvest event is July 25. Most coaches will be back for that.

The running back depth chart probably looks like this right now:

Paki O’Meara/Jeff Brinson

Adam Robinson

Jayme Murphy

Brandon Wegher/Brad Rogers

Here’s “Four downs with Iowa’s running backs,” which ran before spring practice.

Here’s a story from just before signing day, focusing on the skill players the state of Iowa produced in this year’s recruiting class, including Wegher.

Here’s an analysis story on the running backs coming out of the Outback Bowl.

Here’s Gazette columnist Mike Hlas’ piece after Hampton tore it up against Maine in his Hawkeye debut. Hlas caught up with members of Hampton’s family.

“He loves Iowa,” said Hampton’s aunt, Angie Watkins. “Since last fall, that’s all I’ve heard.”

“He’s kind of shy, laid-back,” his mother added. That doesn’t fully match up with Hampton’s comment to The Gazette last winter when he said he was hoping for 180 carries as a freshman, or 15 a game.

“It’s just in my heart and that’s what I’m determined to do,” Hampton said then. “I think I have what it takes.”

EDIT: From JMWinn (see below) on Jewel’s Facebook: “Q’s about my knee stop em cause “IDEK BOUT MY KNEE YET!!” (“IDEK” is “I don’t even know.”)

Iowa running back Jewel Hampton tucks the ball under his arm while working out during the team’s practice March 25 at the Kenyon Football Practice Facility in Iowa City. Hampton sat out some of spring practice with a hamstring injury. Last Friday, he suffered a knee injury. (Brian Ray/The Gazette)

Iowa running back Jewel Hampton tucks the ball under his arm while working out during the team’s practice March 25 at the Kenyon Football Practice Facility in Iowa City. Hampton sat out some of spring practice with a hamstring injury. Last Friday, he suffered a knee injury. (Brian Ray/The Gazette)


Responses

  1. Thanks for the updates and all the archived material.

  2. Thanks, Zach.

    I wish I knew more.

    Apparently, Jewel has updated his Facebook. I’m not a friend, so I don’t know what it says.

    I just hope he’s OK. I tried to put myself in his shoes this morning. Away from family and home, medical adversity with questions still out there. It’s got to be scary. Godspeed to Jewel.

  3. Thanks for the report, Marc.

    I’m actually friends with Jewel on Facebook, and he posted a status an hour ago that says:

    Q’s about my knee stop em cause “IDEK BOUT MY KNEE YET!!”

    For those not in the know (Google!), IDEK is an online acronym for ‘I Don’t Even Know’.

    Having suffered a torn ACL myself while playing pickup ball at the Field House, initial pull tests (which you see trainers performing on the field) are relatively accurate in determining whether your ACL is torn. If there is any give, then it’s obviously a bad sign.

    That said, I hate to speculate and hope Jewel’s knee is merely sprained, but the Iowa training staff likely knows the partial status of his ACL even before he has the MRI, which will show whether it’s a full or partial tear, and whether his other two main knee ligaments were damaged in any way. If his knee wasn’t giving at all and was completely stable (indicating a sprain), then there likely wouldn’t be an MRI so soon.

    Hope for the best – he’s a good kid.

  4. Thanks, JM.

    A torn ACL is the one thing I haven’t done to my knees. I’ve had that stability test done a few times (once in prep football and twice after adult hockey).

    After re-reading the Hlas column from the Maine game, Jewel certainly has a lot of people in his life who love, care and believe in him. That shows me something.

    Hopefully, it’s not too serious.

  5. how can you not be a friend to hampton on facebook. come on marc, youre slippin. :)

    hopefully we can avoid any more arrests, transfers or injuries. not liking the recent trend.

  6. “Up front, I don’t know a whole lot.”

    Well I can go you one better. Up front, I know nothing…about sports. But a girl can only pass by a funny Krusty the Clown seal so many times without sticking her head in the door to say hi!

    Have a Great One!

  7. The Krusty thing is kind of the blog mentality. It’s not always pretty, but it gets the job done.

    Your blog is much more attractive. And I, in fact, am in need of meditation techniques that don’t involve copious amounts of beer.

  8. You mean copious amounts of beer aren’t part of meditative practice? Rut Roh!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

