Posted by: marcmwm | January 21, 2009

Liveblogging from Carver-Hawkeye tonight (Tucker won’t be participating)

Can Iowa start to crawl out of the smoldering crater that its Big Ten campaign is quickly becoming? Will Anthony Tucker see meaningful minutes? Can he play meaningful minutes? Will the real David Palmer stand up? Bottomline, are you still into Iowa basketball? If not, why?

I’d like to know. Please, join us at the liveblog tonight.

http://www.gazetteonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090121/SPORTS/901219997/1056

The biggest, bestest question? Will Bo Ryan do the “Hambone”?

From the UI sports info:

IOWA’S TUCKER WILL MISS SECOND SEMESTER

 

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – University of Iowa freshman guard Anthony Tucker will miss the second semester of the 2008-09 season due to being ruled ineligible in accordance with Big Ten Conference academic requirements.  The announcement came from Hawkeye Coach Todd Lickliter Wednesday.

 

“Since the conclusion of the first semester, Anthony has been involved in an appeal process concerning his academic course work,” said Lickliter.  “We have been informed that the appeal process has been completed and Anthony is not eligible, by Big Ten Conference standards, to compete during the spring semester.”

 

Tucker (6-4, 200) joined the Iowa program after a prep career at Minnetonka, MN HS.  He started eight of the 14 games he has played.  He is averaging 10.4 points and three rebounds per game.  Tucker is shooting 43.8% from the field, including 42.7% from three-point range.

 

Tucker scored a career-high 24 points in a loss to West Virginia and recorded his only double-double with 14 points and 10 rebounds in a win over Southeast Missouri State.  He scored in double figures in eight games.


Responses

  1. I’d join you for the chat, but I’ll be attending the game as a fan. So technically, I guess the answer to your question is “Yes,” I am still into Iowa Basketball. Nobody said being a fan is all happy times, and I have a sneaking suspicion that this team needs to hear the support of the fans at home right now.

    I’m not into blaming people for not going, because there are lots of reasons why, and I don’t go to a lot of games like I used to (yes, in the Alford era). But I like to go when I can.

  2. Also, Bo Ryan doing Soulja Boy is great as well, I think you should edit that in!

  3. I couldn’t find a good “Soulja Boy,” Michael.

    The root of this is TV exposure. Average Tom Davis teams were a religious TV appointment for many Iowans. The shakiness of TV has dented attendance. I believe if fans can’t find them, they won’t watch them.

    Also, I think Iowa fans dole out the cash for football and rein it in when it comes to basketball. The cost of being a “way into it” football fan is steep. Tickets, transportation, food, clearning the calendar, road games, the list goes on and on.

    Then, you have to consider personalities and style of play. Have fans taken to Todd Lickliter? Will they? I know that’s a difficult question, but it’s time start asking it. Personally, I think Iowa has a really great coach, but I’m not sure this kind of basketball sells.

  4. i love the type of basketball when they can play it well. Hopefully people will start to notice coach Lick. if we can change the student seating in carver that would be interesting. hopefully next year people show up. but tough times and some people just cant afford to go to games. lower tickets and move the seats. see what happens.

  5. I am in to it and always will be, as I am a Hawkeye and they’re my team.

    Yeah, they’re really, really, hard to watch right now but I think they’ll be fine when Lick has his own players.

    They play decent to strong defense but the offense is offensive for the most part.

    I don’t get everyone talking about Lick’s “style” Successful ball is successful ball and is enjoyable to watch when played correctly.

    Rome wasn’t built in a day and Iowa hoops may not be rebult for another season or two so be patient folks.

  6. Wow, what a game. Palmer and Peterson really impressed me tonight. I can’t believe Tucker, what a semester. I have a feeling we won’t see him again.

  7. Was at the game last night (good to finally meet you House) and the crowd was definitely into it. Too bad so many people came dressed as empty seats though. The football “investment” is an interesting point. I have season football tix but only go to 1-2 bball games a year. The out-of-pocket cost for bball is high when you’re already paying for football but, more importantly, the time commitment is so much higher. With football, you commit to 6-7 Saturdays each year. With basketball, it’s 20+ games, many coming on weeknights. This makes it difficult for people outside the IC-CR area to come in. A lot of people just won’t drive 3 hrs one way for a 2-hr game. With football, it’s a full day of activities.

    Personally, I love watching Lick coach. I love how he interacts with his players while their on the court. He demonstrates a paternal style and is very encouraging of them when they do well and takes advantage of “coachable moments” during the game to help them understand when they didn’t do what he wanted. He does this in a way that doesn’t show the player up or dress the player down.

  8. Great to meet you too, MF.

    Good points, all.

    Peterson did interviews last night with ice taped all around his left wrist. That’s got to be slowing him down. David Palmer is a great story, if you can get past the fact that Lickliter didn’t tap him on the shoulder until it was an emergency. Gatens is future Hawkeye basketall Mt. Rushmore material.

    Lickliter’s style will draw fans because, I believe, it’ll eventually win. I’ve said from Day 1 with Lickliter, it’s going to take three years to crawl out of the Alford crater (I’ve submitted that the the National Geological Service, BTW). This is year 2. There’s more work to be done. The Tucker situation, obviously, doesn’t make it any easier.

    I’m jealous of Aaron Fuller. I wish I could throw a check like that in hockey.


Leave a comment

Categories