Posted by: marcmwm | October 27, 2008

“Greene out” a go

This from e-mailer Michael Van Dyke.

Hey, why not? Have some fun with the thing.

Marc,

 

I wanted to write you and let you know that because the “Green Out” is being planned by the UI students, I decided to design and sell a “Nothing runs like #23″

T-shirt.  It’s an obvious play off of the John Deere slogan.  The shirt is available at www.greene4heisman.com.  I thought that John Deere green would be appropriate due to Iowa’s agricultural background.  I hope and encourage all students to wear green and/or John Deere attire for the game!

 

Michael Van Dyke


Responses

  1. I saw green Greene shirts at Sheel’s yesterday. This surprised me though. From my understanding, UofI licensees cannot create shirts with Shonn Greene’s name or number on them as it would be a violation of NCAA rules. Supposedly there’s some sort of limit as to how schools can market their athletes’ names and likenesses.

    I know the NCAA floated a couple of proposals on this a year or two back but can’t find what transpired.

    I’d hate to see the Univ get in trouble with the NCAA over an otherwise well-intentioned group of fans.

  2. I think numbers are OK; names are not.

    These are shirts with the number 23 on them. Theoretically, that could be Michael Jordan. Wink, wink.

    I’m sure at some point there will be a buzzkill factor to this.

  3. I had to change my previous design because of this, and I confirmed with University officials that my slogan, “Nothing runs like #23″ is ok to use!

  4. I’m not surprised by a some entrepreneurial fans trying something. But the shirts at Scheels had Greene’s name on them. I know Scheels got busted a few years ago for selling black-market Pro-V1 golf balls without a license from Titleist. Apparently they don’t care about that type of thing.

  5. Oh, and apropos of nothing….

    That’s just beautiful

  6. That is a great pic. Thanks for sharing that.

  7. Here’s another view. Way to stay classy, Chicago. ;-)

  8. Black market Pro V-1’s? Can you hook me up with some of those?

    Personally, I think the whole Greene out thing is kind of goofy but to each their own since I don’t have to pay for it.

  9. Joe, a lot of Blackhawks fans are way too preoccupied with Detroit. It’s to the point of obsession with some folks. My view is yeah, I hate Detroit but it bugs me more that the Blackhawks’ management can’t seem to get out of its own way.

    E, I don’t go for the Pro Vs. Way too much spin. I will occasionally on par 3s, but I’ve been a Bridgestone E-6 guy for a couple summers. I also like the Nike Black.

    I think the Greene is a fun idea, but if you don’t want to buy a shirt that’s fine, too.

  10. Agreed. It’s like the White Sox fans who seem to be more concerned with the Cubs failures than they are the Sox successes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

